“The Bachelor Machine”–science fiction erotica

M. Christian.“The Bachelor Machine”, Circlet Press, 2011.


Science Fiction Erotica

Amos Lassen


Let me start off by saying that I am a huge fan of M. Christian and when he has a new book come out, I am on it immediately. Christian writes good erotica, something that is not easy to do. Anyway can tell a dirty story but not everyone can put a story into prose and it is here that Christian excels (and that is true of all of his books—if you have not read him, you must). His casts of characters include a little something for everyone and he writes to us and pulls us into his sexual fantasies.

Finally this book is available to all of us and it contains eighteen very hot stories all pulled from the mind of M. Christian, a man who, in my mind, is a master storyteller. When originally published, Cecilia Tan wrote an introduction to the stories and that is reproduced here along with a new forward by Kit O’ Connell and a chat between Tan and Christian on how science fiction and erotica come together.

When I tell you that these stories are hot, I might be giving you an understatement. M. Christian’s erotica comes from the heart and I would love to spend an afternoon at a coffeehouse with him listening to how he comes up with the stories he writes. He manages to give us literary erotica or as I usually call it, literary smut but it is a notch above a lot of what I have read.

In this collection there is a lot of sex but the stories themselves are not about the act of sex but rather what sex means. Christian writes about humanity and being human and the sex is, like we said in Louisiana, lagniappe.  Christian is one of a kind and he again proves that here. By using satire and irony and combining that with science fiction and erotica, it is almost to say that he has created an entire new genre. His literary voice and style are uniquely his and every story here works. We go to places we have never dreamt of and Christian is our able and talented guide.

I have not singled out any of the stories for to do so would be to ruin a unique reading experience and I want all of you to find what I have found in reading M. Christian. This is a fine place to start. Here is what you will find when you open the book:

 

Table of Contents:

Foreword by Kit O’Connell
Introduction to the 2003 Edition by Cecilia Tan
State
Bluebelle
Winged Memory
Eulogy
Butterflie$
Everything But the Smell of Lilies
Fully Accessorized, Baby
The New Motor
Guernica
Hackwork
Heartbreaker
Switch
InterCore
Technophile
Skin-Effect
Sight
The Show
Thin Dog
The Bachelor Machine
Appendix A
Appendix B

  1. #1 by Kit O'Connell on February 8, 2011 - 2:22 am

    I love Chris’ work — that’s why I was so thrilled to provide the Foreward to this edition. Thanks for spreading the gospel!

  2. #2 by mykola (mick) dementiuk on February 8, 2011 - 12:10 pm

    M. Christian is the man I’ve been reading for years. There’s always something new and surprising, even unexpected, but it sure grips you and you keep the pages turning. Great job Chris! This reader can’t wait to get more.

  3. #3 by M.Christian on February 9, 2011 - 2:35 am

    STOP IT – YOU GUYS ARE MAKING ME BLUSH!

  4. #4 by Jardonn Smith on February 9, 2011 - 7:51 am

    Mr. Lassen: I don’t want to say you’re raving, but, well, your enthusiasm has sparked my interest in this author, and this book. Thank you for getting my attention.

  5. #5 by Cecilia Tan on February 15, 2011 - 2:46 am

    It was an honor to be associated with such a project. M. Christian is amazing, one of the only writers whose fiction excites me as much as my own stories do. He hits the spot every time.

Leave a comment