My 10 Best List for 2010 (with no thanks to Amazon.com)

The Best GLBT Books of 2010—My List (with no thanks to Amazon.com)

It is that time of year again when we make our best lists and for me I thought it would be easy to do after already having made a list through August. Yet there are surprises on this list because like Hollywood, publishers wait until the end of the year to bring out some of their best. Reviews of the books will be available in the next few days

1.Gallaway, Matthew. “The Metropolis Case” is new to the list and new to readers. It is a book you will not soon forget not just because of the plot but also because of the wonderfully drawn characters and the gorgeous prose.

2.Bledsoe, Lucy. “The Big Band Symphony: A Novel of Antarctica”. I don’t know how this missed being on my earlier list. Lucy gives us a beautifully written story.

3.“Mute” by Raymond Luzcak moves up from number 6 and holds on strong. Beautiful and elegant, Luzcak’s poetry hits the reader with a slap across the face/

4.“If Jesus Were Gay” by Emanuel Xavier stays on the list. Almost every poem deals with love, lust, sadness and memory and they are all brutally honest. He holds back on nothing and says what he feels. His frankness may catch you off guard but it will make you think about things that seem to be quite ordinary but in reality are a bit more

5.Noach Dzmura. “Balancing on the Mechitza: Transgender in the Jewish Community” is another new entry and Dzmura dares to go where few have gone before and he does so with style and grace.

6. Ruth Sims keeps her place with her beautiful love story, “Counterpoint” is a perfect example of what good literature is all about as is…

7. Jeff Mann. “Binding the God: Ursine Essays from the Mountain Top”. Jeff’s writing touches the soul. This is a collection of beautiful essays.

8. Ron Suresha, “The Uncommon Sense of the Immortal Mullah Nasruddin”. I  said in my review that these are stories to “mull(ah)” over. While not really a GLBT book, Suresha is a gay author who has given us the definitive Nasruddin stories.

9. William Sievert is still with us and his book “Sawdust Confessions” is a wonderful example of a comic novel. We read about a diva who disappears from Florida’s gayest campground.

10. Johnny Townsend, “The Golem of Rabbi Loew”, an exploration of Jewish mysticism with a gay twist that provides an incredible reading experience.

Those are the top ten for now but there are three other books that deserve special mention—Justin Spring’s “Secret Historian” is capturing all kinds of audiences and been hailed as one of the biographies of the year and William Maltese’s “Draqualian Silk: A Collector’s and Bibliographical Guide to the Books of William Maltese, 1969-2010”. Maltese has been consistently one of most prolific writers of m/m fiction. Finally, I am impressed by Jeff Erno’s writing  and loved his “Puppy Love” series but “Trust Me” really won me over and deserves to be read by all. Best wishes for a Happy New Year.

  1. #1 by Steve Berman on December 19, 2010 - 2:15 pm

    I’m really pleased at this list. Thank you, Amos.

  2. #2 by Bill Sievert on December 19, 2010 - 11:33 pm

    Thank you so much for including my campy comic mystery on your prestigious list, Amos. I am very proud to be included — and I appreciate your excellent taste. Given the recent controversy regarding some of your reviews created by a few detractors, I thought I’d share with readers of this post my thoughts about your original review of “Sawdust Confessions”:

    From the moment I first read his review, I knew that Amos Lassen not only had thoroughly read my book “Sawdust Confessions” but had written about it in a manner unlike any previous reviewer. His reactions and appreciation were expressed in his unique voice, one that made me feel that he truly understood what I was trying to accomplish with the book. No other reviewer, before or since, has captured the essence of my novel the way Amos Lassen did. His thought processes and his language were truly his own. And, for the record, I did not know Mr. Lassen personally before he reviewed the book and I still have not met him. Only after the review appeared did we begin chatting occasionally on the internet. And I did not know that my book was being included on this wonderful list until I saw this post this morning.

Leave a Reply

